Matt Henshaw Recommends … Matt Zara

Recommending again, this time an absolutely sensational guitarist, who at a such a young age wasn’t born when John Major was prime minister, is one of the most accomplished and talented musicians I know. Playing bass or guitar he can transform a melody into symphony with one instrument. Often times it’s not cool to bash on about someones talent being amazing just because of how young they are, so for a second let’s just completely discard the simple fact that Matt is barely tackling his GCSEs and know that at whatever age he is simply a brilliant musician, if he was 44 I’d have the same amount of respect and admiration for him, and I’m sure by 44 he’ll have a lot more stories to tell about his wild successes as a guitar man.

Now, I’m no whizz kid on the guitar, I went to the Manchester school of simplicity, starting out learning the chords to Noel Gallagher songs and then ripping a few licks off of The Stone Roses’ John Squire and eventually attempting some Hendrix, Clapton and Jimmy Page, but Matt Zara eats, breathes and sleeps his instrument, I would be surprised if he sleeps with it, such expression and dexterity in his fingers, a skill at improvisation and playing by ear that most don’t develop and execute with such ease.

Let’s just say Matt would be my first port of call if I ever needed a serious guitarist, session man or tour buddy, he’d be an asset to any ensemble and a pleasure to share the stage with, no doubt one day I’ll find myself saying the words “and on guitar, Matt Zara!” to a huge round of applause and some ecstatically excited girlish screams, if only from me ! And if he’d join a band with me at the helm.

I met him for the first time at an open mic night in Leicester and unfortunately missed him, but he, and his whole family, sat and watched me do a few tunes and I felt as though I’d found a new friend and a family away from home straight away, beautiful people, it wasn’t until he mentioned that I should go to an open mic the following night nearer his home and with some of his friends that I really had the chance to be blown away, and discovered a further set of incredibly talented people and indeed a musical family.

The first step in my dream band of Matt’s … I already have an organ and piano player in mind, I’ll let you know about him further down the line, but here’s one of Matt’s original compositions … you might catch him playing in Leicester, a open mics, busking or alongside the fabulous Mark Elliott and Martin Luke Brown …

I’m working on my guitar skills … the next “title video” I upload might just include a guitar solo … oooooooooh …

Spread The Love!
MHx

PS. here’s me doing some plucking and strumming …

Leave a Reply

